For the third straight year, the Municipality of Manaoag was conferred by the Department of Agriculture as one of the 2018 Rice Achievers for its dedicated and dyed in the wool efforts to the rice industry. This also marks the sixth time that it has won the prestigious award.

The accolade was given during the awarding ceremony at the Philippine International Convention Center this afternoon.

Mayor Kim Mikael G. Amador, Municipal Agriculturist Engr. Arnold Raul E. Geronimo, Councilor Wilson B. Calizo, Sangguniang Bayan Chairman of the Committee on Agriculture and Virginia O. Geronimo, LGU Rice Coordinator received the trophy and check amounting to P1 million as the cash prize from the Department of Agriculture which was awarded by Senator Cynthia A. Villar together with officials of the DA, bureaus and attached agencies.

The Rice Achievers Awards is a DA-wide annual event that recognizes the efforts of outstanding rice producers in the Philippines. The program is one of DA’s ways of motivating and showing appreciation for institutions, groups, and individuals for their contributions in its food sufficiency thrust.